Congratulations, 2024 Leadership Intensive Participants!

CSDC congratulates the more than 60 California charter school leaders who gathered in Sacramento this week for the 2024 Leadership Intensive.

Held every summer for over 20 years, the Leadership Intensive provides new charter school leaders with the knowledge, networks, and confidence to run impactful California charter schools.

During the 4-day program, participants received in-depth training from CSDC's specialists and invited guest experts on critical charter school leadership and management topics, networked with peers from across the state, and connected with experienced mentors.

In attending the Leadership Intensive, participants further their professional knowledge and skills, and, collectively, strengthen and deepen the capacities of the California charter schools sector.

Bay Area

Adrienne Barnes
Chief Operations Officer
Amethod Public Schools

Andi Stahler
Senior Executive Assistant
Antioch Charter Academy

Brent Daniels
Leadership Public Schools

Kennedy Hilario
ACE Charter Schools

Lisa Meyers
Faculty Co-chair
Stone Bridge School

Maria Arechiga
Director of Operations and Compliance
Amethod Public Schools

Maurice Williams
Chief Academic Officer
Amethod Public Schools

Sabrina Silverman
Leadership Public Schools

Sylvia Flores
Amethod Public Schools

Central Valley & Central Coast

Katie Balesteri
Bay View Academy Charter School

Andrea Hernandez
Navigator Schools

Norma Knox
Navigator Schools

Armando Montero
Guidance Counseling Specialist
Sierra Charter School

Dawniele Oliphant
Sherman Thomas Charter Schools

Noël Russell-Unterburger
Chief Financial & Operating Officer
Navigator Schools

Jessica Swierstra
Human Resources Supervisor
Excelsior Charter Schools - Central Office

Jennifer Warren
Principal/Associate Director
Gold Rush Charter School

Traci Woelffer
Executive Director
Gold Rush Charter School

Greater Los Angeles Area

Deborah Autrey
School Director
iLEAD Schools

David Braff
Assistant Principal
Ingenium Charter Schools

Dr. Hedako Brown
ISANA Academies

Kristin Browning-Patterson
Director of Special Education
Sycamore Academy of Science and
Cultural Arts

Chantell Butler
Independence Charter Academy

Oscar Cano
Assistant Principal
Ingenium Charter Schools

Olivia Duran
Executive Director
Gorman Learning Center

Ian Eddy
ISANA Academies

Sean Kerr
Assistant Principal of Special and Student Services
California School of the Arts - San Gabriel Valley

David Rosales
Assistant Principal
Ingenium Charter Schools

Ray Taylor
IT/ Facility Manager
Julia Lee Performing Arts Academy

Greater Sacramento Area & Northern California

Russell Brown
Assistant Director
San Juan Choices Charter School

Misty Brussatoi
Long Valley School

Moises Buhain
Program Coordinator: Professional Learning
El Dorado Charter SELPA

Daniel Cartwright
Uncharted Shores Academy

Sharon Council
Site Leader
Pacific Charter Institute

Anita Cumbra
Educational Director
Uncharted Shores Academy

Liz Dentzer
John Adams Academy - Roseville

Daniel Diego
Vice Principal
Gateway Community Charter Schools

Tim Drury
Chrysalis Charter School

Stefani Gambrel
Principal/Director of Operations
Alder Grove Charter School

Brent Givens
San Juan Choices Charter School

Samantha Hamilton
Administrative Services Coordinator
Mountain Oaks Charter School - Calaveras

Amber Hayes
Assistant Principal
Nord Country Charter School

David House
Executive Director
Shasta View Academy

Pamela Jimison
Principal of Elementary Education
John Adams Academy - Roseville

Tim Johnson
John Adams Academy - Roseville

Bob Lewis
Director of IT
IEM Charter Schools

Heather McCarthey
John Adams Academy - Roseville

Shaina Miranda
Executive Assistant
Highlands Community Charter School

Danielle Ray-Reyes
Director of Special Education/Principal
TEAM Charter School

Amanda Rogers
Vice Principal
Castle Rock Charter School

Megan Steeves
Program Coordinator- Compliance
El Dorado Charter SELPA

Sarah Tesch
Business Services Coordinator
Mountain Oaks Charter School - Calaveras

San Diego

Danielle Agliam
The Preuss School UC San Diego

Kamilah Brown
Vice Principal
The Preuss School UC San Diego

Michelle D'Augusta
Executive Director
Sparrow Academy

Bill Dobson
Motivated Youth Academy

Suzy Jennings
Executive Assistant
Baypoint Preparatory Academy - San Diego

Charlene Smith
Director of Educational Services
The Classical Academies

Matthew Steitz
The Preuss School UC San Diego

Jillian Tonkin
Lead Principal
Julian Charter School

Thank You, Presenters!

The Leadership Intensive features over 30 hours of live, instructor-led trainings, featuring sessions taught by CSDC's team of charter school experts (including Founder & Executive Director, Eric Premack) and invited guest experts. Sessions and presenters this year included:

  • Advocacy by Laura Kerr, CSDC Legislative and Community Outreach Specialist
  • Authorizer Relations by Eric Premack, CSDC Founder & Executive Director; Susan Park, Charter Schools Division Director, California Department of Education; and Michelle Hammons, Principal, Eagle Peak Montessori Charter School
  • Charter School and Education Law Fundamentals by Jennifer McQuarrie, Attorney, Law Office of Jennifer McQuarrie
  • Compliance and Mission Strategies by Eduardo de León, Executive Director, The Language Academy of Sacramento
  • Facilities Fundamentals by Eric Premack
  • Financial Leadership and Sustainability Fundamentals by Eric Premack and Jodi Jones, Chief Executive Officer, IEM Charter Schools
  • Governance Fundamentals by Caitlin O'Halloran Hellar, CSDC Governance & Policy Specialist
  • Community Relations by Gayle Nadler, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Multicultural Learning Center
  • Enrollment Marketing & Management by Rich Harrison, Chief Executive Officer, Lighthouse Community Public Schools
  • Personnel and Employment Fundamentals by Jennifer McQuarrie and Jodi Jones
  • Renewal Fundamentals by Susanne Coie, CSDC Accountability & Development Specialist
  • Servant Leadership by Dr. Robin Stout, Superintendent, Rocklin Academy Family of Schools
  • Special Education in California Charter Schools by Meredith McOlvin, Director of Inclusion and Special Education, PUC Schools
  • Transition Planning by Gayle Nadler and Rich Harrison
  • Understanding Charter School Concepts, History, and Policy by Eric Premack

Thank You, 2024 Mentors!

This year, CSDC was proud to release a new benefit of Leadership Intensive included in the price of registration at no additional cost: ongoing mentorship from an experienced California charter school leader.

Mentees met with their mentors during the Leadership Intensive and will continue to connect virtually throughout the 2024-25 school year when they will share opportunities and ideas, ask questions, and receive strategic guidance from experienced charter school leaders.

CSDC would like to express its gratitude to this year's mentors for their commitment to helping new charter school leaders feel confident in their roles and assured in the knowledge that they have a trusted peer on whom they can rely.

Eduardo de Leon
Executive Director, Language Academy of Sacramento

Michelle Hammons
Principal, Eagle Peak Montessori School

Jodi Jones
Chief Executive Officer, Innovative Education Management

Gayle Nadler
Executive Director, Multicultural Learning Center

Rich Harrison
Chief Executive Officer, Lighthouse Community Public Schools

Dr. Robin Stout
Superintendent, Rocklin Academy Family of Schools


Join Us Next Year

Information and registration for the 2025 Leadership Intensive will be announced later this fall.

To receive the latest, please join the Leadership Intensive waitlist, and feel free to contact us at with any questions.


You Might Also Like